Google has created a new feature for Android users designed to further empower them to keep safety of their account on multiple devices. This announcement was made via its blog.
This simply implies the moment a new device is added to your Google account; you will receive an alert notification on your current Android device about the security nature. The displayed notification question will be; “Did you just sign in?” If the activity appears suspicious, then you will be able to take immediate action.
Such actions involve; users can tap on the “Review Account Activity” option on the notification itself to be taken to a page where they can view the recently used devices associated with their account. This screen will display essential information like; what kind of device was used, the locations, at what time, IP address, and also which browser was used to perform the sign-in process.
From here, the user has the will power to either confirm the device was okay by selecting “Yes, that was me” or “No, Secure Account,” if you think your account have been hacked or someone else is using your password.
In addition, device notifications will be more effective as information are quickly notified on multiple devices when a new device has been added. It further enhances transparency of the use of their actions they have carried out and also displays a red flag the moment something fishy is transpiring on a user’s account. Unlike the email notifications which may likely trigger a user to review the information and take immediate action.
Google affirms, “We’ve also found that with Android notifications, users are up to four times as likely to review the information as compared to email notifications.”
The new feature in a fortnight will gradually take effect across the globe for all Android users.
Do you have something to add to this story? Share it in a comment!
Via: | TechCrunch |
Source: | Google blog |